What is meant by Gluten Free?

What is Gluten?

9664479_300x300Gluten is a general name for the proteins found in wheat (durum, emmer, spelt, farina,Ā farro, KAMUTĀ® khorasan wheat and einkorn), rye, barley and triticale. Gluten helps foods maintain their shape, acting as a glue that holds food together. Gluten can be found in many types of foods, even ones that would not be expected (visit Sources of Gluten at celiac.org).

The Big 3: Wheat, Barley, Rye

Wheat is commonly found in:

  • breads
  • baked goods
  • soups
  • pasta
  • cereals
  • sauces
  • salad dressings
  • roux

Barley is commonly found in:

  • malt
  • food coloring
  • soups
  • malt vinegar
  • beer
Triticale is a newer grain, specifically grown to have a similar quality as wheat, while being tolerant to a variety of growing conditions like rye. It can potentially be found in:

Rye is commonly found in:

  • rye bread, such as pumpernickel
  • rye beer
  • cereals

 

 

  • breads
  • pasta
  • cereals

What is Celiac Disease?

Celiac disease is a COMMON, genetically linked disease. An environmental STRESS can activate celiac disease. In people with celiac disease, gluten exposure evokes an immune mediated response throughout the body with measurable damage to the intestinal lining or skin. Some of the most common symptoms are joint pain, anemia, diarrhea, constipation, fatigue and irritability.